ACES 2018 Conference


ACES_SiteGraphics_HomeCover-03.png
1481551904-RESORT_pool_highres_desktop.jpg

May 7-9, 2018  |  The PGA National Resort and Spa  |  400 Avenue of the Champions  |  Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33418


 

Monday, May 7th, 2018          

Daytime Arrival and Check-in 
6:00 pm – 7:30 pm Welcome Reception
Hosted by Palm Beach County Sports Commission
Site: Honda Pavilion (weather permitting)
Beverages, hors d’oeuvres

7:30 pm Dinner at Your Option
Several excellent restaurants nearby. 
 

Tuesday, May 8th, 2018

8:00am – 8:30am Breakfast 
Site: British Ballroom

8:30am – 8:50am Introductions and Updates 

8:50am – 10:15am Topic: The Fabulous Doom and Gloom Show
Presenters: Steve Smith, Bryan Cave and Matt Sicchio, Integro Entertainment & Sport

10:15am – 10:30am Break

10:30am – 11:15am Topic: Plugging into Project Play

Presenter: Tom Farrey, ED, Sports & Society Program, The Aspen Institute

This presentation will offer insights on growing youth sport participation and identify ways for NGBs and other organizations to activate and be recognized for taking meaningful actions in support of multi-sport play and coach training.

11:15am – 12:00pm Topic: Sports Facilities Boom

Presenter: Dev Pathik, CEO, Sports Facilities Advisory

This session will outline the current state of facility developments with real world examples of the mega projects that are coming on line and will provide insight into how these facilities have been planned, funded, and managed. The session will provide practical steps and insights that will spark discussion as to how NGBs and Sports Commissioners can take advantage of the current boom by better leveraging and promoting sports facilities.

12:00pm – 1:00pm Lunch 
British Ballroom
Presented by Palm Beach County Sports Commission

Host comments to kick off lunch. Dedicated to Steve Ducoff and his great contributions to ACES, the Olympic Movement and the communities in which he lived.

1:00pm - 2:30pm Topic: Open Discussion on Current Issues
British Ballroom

(concurrent session #1)
ACES Members Executive Session

  • Athlete safety and protection (Safe Sport)
  • Clean Sport
  • Strategies to navigate the current environment 
  • Board governance and board relations
  • Revenue generation

1:00pm – 2:30pm Topic: Roundtable Discussion
Bella Lago Ballroom

(concurrent session #2)
Sponsor and Concierge Member Executive Session

Facilitator: Jon Schmieder, Huddle Up Group
How Sponsors and Concierge Members optimize the ACES relationship. Develop list of questions and recommendations for ACES.

2:30pm – 2:45pm Break
All return to British Ballroom

2:45pm – 3:45pm Topic: ACES Benchmarking Initiative Report

Presenter: Dr. Ryan Gagnon, Assistant Professor, Clemson University, Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management.

3:45pm – 4:45pm Topic: Driving Strategy with Branding

Presenter: Bill Frederick, Principal of Fanbrandz

This session will address the fundamentals of sports-related branding and how it can be leveraged as a powerful strategic tool for brand positioning, driving engagement and providing value to sponsor-partners.

5:00pm – 9:00pm Evening Social Event (TBD)

Busses depart from hotel at 5:15pm & 5:30pm

We will be holding our event at one the world’s finest croquet centers. Heavy appetizers will be served, and you will have the opportunity to compete in croquet. Our Palm Beach County Sports Commission hosts assure us this will be a very entertaining evening. 

 

Wednesday, May 9th, 2018

7:15am – 8:00am Breakfast
All welcome
British Ballroom

8:00am – 9:00am Topic: Sponsors & Concierge Member Report 

Presenter: Appointee from Tuesday’s Sponsor and Concierge Member executive session.

After the report, there will be an open discussion and Q&A.

9:00am – 11:30am Topic: ACES Strategic Planning Meeting
ACES member executive session

11:45am Departures (checkout by noon)

12:45pm Optional Golf Outing – Tee times start at 12:45pm

 

CONFERENCE HOST

Palm Beach County George Linley 

Sports Commission glinley@palmbeachsports.com

561-233-3123

Glen Allen

gallen@palmbeachsports.com

561-233-3174

 

ACES SPONSORS

(* denotes legacy sponsor)

AMI Graphics
Ed Miles
ed@amigraphics.com

Cartan Global Events
Barbara Melo
barbaram@cartan.com

Clancy’s Sports Properties 3D Institute
Mike Millay
Mike.Millay@clancyssports.com

Fanbrandz
Bill Frederick
bill.frederick@fanbrandz.com

Florida Sports Foundation
Angela Suggs
asuggs@flasports.com

InProduction
Tim Miller
TMiller@InProduction.net

*Integro Entertainment & Sport (formerly ESIX)
Matt Sicchio
matt.sicchio@integrogroup.com

Randy Melcher
randy.melcher@integrogroup.com

Sean Lankie
sean.lankie@integrogroup.com

National Association of Sports Commissions
Al Kidd
Al@SportsCommissions.org

Nationwide Insurance
Mark Pasquini
pasquim1@nationwide.com

Peter Abreo
abreop@nationwide.com

*QuadGraphics
Shawn Pye
shawn.pye@qg.com

*SMG
Gregg Caren
gcaren@smgworld.com

SportsEngine (Acquired RallyMe)
Matt Hansen
matt.hansen@sportsengine.com

Travis Shives
travis.shives@sportsengine.com

Sports Facilities Management
Jason Clement
jason@sportavisory.com

Dev Pathik
dpathik@sportadvisory.com

Sports Marketing Surveys
Keith Storey
keith.storey@sportsmarketingsurveysusa.com

US Sports Congress
Lou Mengsol
lou@ussportscongress.com

 

ACES CONCIERGE MEMBERS

Visit Anaheim
Roy Edmondson
redmondson@visitanaheim.org

Visit Canton 
Mary Vlahos
maryv@visitcanton.com

Cincinnati USA Sports Commission
Leslie Spencer
lspencer@cincyusa.com

Greater Columbus Sports Commission
Linda Logan
llogan@columbussports.org

Dayton Beach Area CVB
Tara Hamburger
thamburger@daytonabeach.com

Denver Sports Commission
Matthew Payne
mpayne@denversports.org

Catch Des Moines
Greg Edwards
greg@catchdesmoines.com

Detroit Sports
Kris Smith
ksmith@detroitsports.org

Greater Fort Lauderdale CVB
Carol Hudson
chudson@broward.org

Visit KC (Kansas City)
Becky Harsh
bharsh@visitkc.com

Greater Lansing Sports Authority
Mike Price
mprice@lansing.org

Louisville Sports Commission
Greg Fante
gfante@louisvillesports.org

Maryland’s Sports Commission
Terry Hasseltine
thasseltine@marylandsports.us

Oklahoma CVB
Sue Hollenbeck
shollenbeck@visitokc.com

RenoTahoe
Shelli Fine
sfine@renotahoeusa.com

Rhode Island Sports Commission
John Gibbons
jgibbons@gosportsri.com

Seattle Southside Regional Tourism Authority
Kristina Thorne
kristina@seattlesouthside.com

Seattle Sports Commission
Ralph Morton
rmorton@seattlesports.org

Snohomish County Sports Commission
Tammy Dunn
tammy@snohomish.org

St. Pete/Clearwater Sports & Events
Sarah Kirchberg
sarah@visitspc.com

Round Rock Texas
Nancy Yawn
nyawn@roundrocktexas.gov

Tulsa Sports Commission
Vince Trinidad
vincetrinidad@tulsasports.org

Sports Virginia
Joni Johnson
jjohnson@virginia.org

West Michigan Sports Commission
Mike Guswiler
mguswiler@westmisports.com